| Home | Contact | Site Map | Japanese
To Message
Our Structure of Values and Policies

Corporate Data

Overseas Network
Investor Relations

Home > Profile > History
  1873 Kihachiro Okura established Okura Gumi Shokai
  Ginza Brick Street restoration project
  1882 Arc lamps lit in front of Okura Gumi Shokai in Ginza
  1883 Rokumeikan (facility for entertaining state visitors or foreign diplomats)
  1887 Establishment of Nippon Doboku Co., Ltd. (the first corporation in the construction industry)
  Establishment of Osaka Office (later, Osaka Branch, currently Kansai Branch)
  1890 Lake Biwa Lock and Tunnel (Kyoto-fu and Shiga Prefecture)
(water tunnel to deliver water from Lake Biwa to Kyoto)
  1893 Kihachiro Okura established Okura Doboku Gumi
  1911 Kabushiki Gaisha Okura Gumi Civil Engineering Department launched
  1915 Okura Gumi main building
  1917 Establishment of Kabushiki Gaisha Okura Doboku Gumi (first kabushiki gaisha (stock-type company) in the construction industry)
  1920 Name change to Nihon Doboku Kabushiki Gaisha
  1923 New Imperial Hotel (designed by F.L. Wright)
  1924 Name change to Okura Doboku Kabushiki Gaisha
  Yokohama Office opened (currently Yokohama Branch)
  1927 Tokyo Metro from Ueno to Kaminarimon (first metro in the Orient)
  1928 Death of Kihachiro Okura (age 90)
  1929 Sapporo Office opened (currently Sapporo Branch)
  1931 Nagoya Office opened (currently Nagoya Branch)
  Okura Schanze (Hokkaido)
(Ski jump for Sapporo Winter Olympics)
  1933 Kyushu Office opened (later Fukuoka Branch, currently Kyushu Branch)
  1945 Susumu Onishi appointed President
  1946 Name change to Taisei Corporation
  Sendai (currently Tohoku Branch), Hiroshima (currently Chugoku Branch), Niigata (currently Kita Shinetsu Branch), Takamatsu (currently Shikoku Branch) offices name change to Branch
  1947 Election of President Takeo Fujita and Directors by employee voting
  1949 Employee stock system established, thereby becoming a non-family corporation
  1956 Listing of shares on Tokyo Stock Exchange
  1957 Kazue Kato appointed President
  Listing of shares on Tokyo Stock Exchange (first in the construction industry)
  1958 Completion of Ginza Taisei Building, headquarters moved
  National Stadium (Tokyo) (Main stadium for Tokyo Olympics)
  1960 Establishment of Research Institute in Toyosu
  Tokuji Mizushima appointed President
  1963 Tokyo Branch opened
  Kahei Honma appointed President
  1964 Mount Fuji Radar Station (Shizuoka Prefecture, Yamanashi Prefecture) (For meteorological observation)
  1969 Koji Minami appointed President
  1973 Centenary (commemorative event held)
  1975 Hideo Sugasawa appointed President
  1979 Shinjuku Center Building completed, headquarters moved
  Hajime Sako appointed President
  Research Institute moved to Totsuka, Yokohama
  1985 Yasuo Satomi appointed President
  1987 Seikan Tunnel (Hokkaido, Aomori Prefecture)
(world's longest undersea tunnel)
  1991 Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building No. 1
  1993 Hyozo Yamamoto appointed President
  Chiba Branch, Kanto Branch, Kobe Branch opened
  1997 Osamu Hirashima appointed President
  2000 Kyoto Branch opened
  2001 Kanji Hayama appointed President
  2007 Takashi Yamauchi appointed President
  2013 140th anniversary of founding (commemorative exhibition "Passing the Baton to the Future" held)
  2015 Yoshiyuki Murata appointed President

Page top

Copyright © 2015 TAISEI Corporation. All rights reserved.